Skip to content

Strangest Christmas Gift Ever…

January 7, 2010

“You’re not getting any younger”… “You’ve been together for years!” … “You know your grandparents might not be around much longer”…”When will I be a grandmother/aunt/uncle/etc?”

Have you ever heard these sentiments from your family? Well, I have!  These are the comments and questions that surround me now that people have decided that it’s time for me to have a baby.

Yep, they have decided that it’s the right time for me.   Hmm, that doesn’t sound right.  With all the factors to consider when it comes to starting a family, isn’t it hard enough without the outside pressure of our nearest and dearest?

For instance, every Christmas, my dad gives me and my sister a special gift.  The gift is usually something special like a piece of jewelery.  So, imagine my excitement when I opened this year’s gift.  The box was small and slender.  It was wrapped beautifully.  I tore into it and pulled out a pregnancy test. Yes, that’s right–my father bought me a pregnancy test and then instructed me to go take it. Yikes!

How do you (or did you) deal with baby pressures? Should we just grin and bear it?

Hate it…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tara permalink*
    January 9, 2010 3:46 pm

    OMG Welcome back! hah! I was just going to come write my own little entry. Will be hard to top this! hilarious!

  2. March 22, 2010 6:15 am

    hi..i know how it feels..it happen to me too you know. seems like they never get enough answer..always want to know..after they ask when r u going to marry, they will ask..when are planning to have a baby..after that they will ask.. when will you have a second child..and so on…hate this too..

Leave a Reply

