Skip to content

Hate It: Fall Back

October 29, 2009

WTF is up with the United States having to “Fall Back”?  Is winter not depressing enough already?  Seriously, we have to make it get dark EVEN EARLIER than it already does?  In most states there isn’t even enough sunshine to constitute it being called “daytime” in the winter–it’s like an extended, bright nighttime.  I’m lucky because I live in one of the sunniest places in the US, but all cannot have it as such.  For example, almost two years ago I lived in Chicago.  (Seriously?  Two years already?) between the months of February and June. I am willing to state that I saw the sun MAYBE 25 days in that time period.  And on the days I did see the sun, it was short lived, it probably hailed/snowed buckets at some point that day, and it got dark at 4pm.  I also took a trip during that time period to Florida.  Upon sitting outside in the sun for exactly one hour, both of my olive-toned, never-ever-burn, high-tolerance to sun camel arms were burnt to a crisp.  I distinctly remember sporting some horrendous tshirt tan for the remainder of that year.

EARNS EXXON MOBILE

In addition to the dark being downright depressing, it also hampers my life in others way.  I have to leave work and by 5pm need a flashlight to find my car.  My bootcamp class has to work out under the giant track lights or else we’d probably break our necks in the dark–no running around campus in the winter!  I am completely unmotivated to move when it is pitch black out.  The only thing I’m motivated to do is eat cake and sit on my couch (wait…that might be how it is all the time).

Anyway, as the fateful “Fall Back” is upon us, let us all pay homage to the sun.  You may not see it for a looong while.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 2, 2009 12:39 pm

    Agreed. If you live way up north it can be brutal.

Leave a Reply

