Skip to content

Love It: Freak Shows, Volume 2

September 17, 2009

I promised to all of my adoring readers (aka my mom, my aunt and my fellow blogettas) that I would be producing an entire series of freak shows, seen and spotted in real life here in the Bay Area by yours truly.  Today’s installment comes courtesy of Santa Cruz, a beautiful coastal town with an odd mix of Victorian Architecture, Homeless people, Huge Redwood Forests, palm trees, Tree-hugging hippies, surfers and techies, among others.  Basically, your classic eclectic beach town.

Since Santa Cruz is a weekly destination for me, there is no shortage of freak sightings.  For example, just the other day as I ran along the beach boardwalk, I saw two nude men nesteled on a small beach at the bottom of a tall cliff, chillin’.  The odd part was, the boardwalk was extremely crowded that day and they were fully visible.  Not surprisingly, no one blinked an eye.  As a matter of fact I’m pretty sure I myself didn’t blink at all; instead I craned my neck to try to see more…what were they doing?  Were they really nude?  Why?  Am I the only person who can see this?!  <ahem>.  Anyway.

Shortly after this sighting, Mr. T and I were heading to one of our favorite beaches when we encountered this:

photo-1

WTF is this?  An RV with GIGANTIC stuffed animals strategically placed all over it, that’s what.  And I mean GIGANTIC.  WHERE did they get them?!  Again, the ever-present question:  Why?

The mysteries are neverending…what happens when it rains?  Do the stuffed animals get all soggy and grow mold?  What if one falls off and lands on the windshield of a passing motorist?  What if a small child sees one of the giant stuffed animals suddenly become decapitated from age, mold and wind shear?  So much trauma can come from this vehicle.  So really, why?  Are they even stuffed?  Or are they huge costumes?  How are they attached to the vehicle?  I could go on and on, but I’ll save you the misery.

Quite frankly, I don’t think I will ever understand, nor will I bother trying.  After all, without spectacles like these, what would I have to amuse me on a daily basis?  Loves it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Marilyn permalink
    September 18, 2009 7:14 am

    ahahahahaha Please continue these “freak show” articles. I like to start off my day being entertained. Laughter is always a good way to start! And, you never fail to deliver laughter with these articles!

Leave a Reply

