Skip to content

Hate It: Gigantic Brick Computers (PCs)

September 8, 2009
by

Recently, after visiting the AMAZING and fabulous website/store that is Lululemon (again, another post!!!!!  I love and hate so many different things.) I became obsessed with one of their gym bags that has a built-in laptop compartment, among other things.  (E., you will relate to this post, I am preettttyyy sure).  Anyhow, because I am an instant gratification, I-need-it-right-now-or-I-will-surely-die type of person, I ordered a non returnable bag from eBay.  Lulu was completely out of stock.  You can imagine my excitement the day it arrived.  Like a small child entering not only a candy store, but one made entirely of candy, I ripped the bag from it’s box with glee and began filling it.  Imagine my dismay when I began to stuff my work computer, which I need to transport on a daily basis, into the bag and found this:

photo-2

The gigantic, oversized, massive brick of a PC that my employer has given me to work on (how does one work when your computer crashes almost hourly?  Just asking.) does not fit in the Lulu bag.  It is satan. Clearly Lululemon, in all it’s cool, trendy, hotness agrees, because when I tried to put my cute, shiny, silver macbook in, this is what happened:

bagmac

Oh, what?  What’s that you say?  You don’t see my Macbook there?  That’s right.  THAT’S BECAUSE IT IS SO VERY SMALL it more than fits in the bag.  In fact, it disappears inside the bag to such a degree that it is barely noticeable that you have a computer in there.  It’s almost as though these bags were built for macbooks.  Conspiracy?  Me thinks yes.  Lululemon hates PCs as much as I do.

Anyhow, this is just one wonderful example of why PCs are one gigantic suck.  Besides the fact that they don’t fit in the trendiest of gym bags, here are a host of other reasons I detest them:

  • They are huge and weigh a ton.  They are basically giant bricks and should be used to build houses, not as portable work devices.
  • They crash hourly.  Apple has some great marketing, but let’s be honest.  How hard is it to come up with a commercial claiming that you should buy a mac because they “just work” when..well…it’s true.  And that PCs crash a lot because… they do. My PC crashes ALL THE TIME.
  • PCs do not allow you to scroll down a page using two fingers instead of one. Rather, you have to hold a button and awkwardly drag your other finger around on the mousepad just to get the screen to move.  Fail!  How hard is it to come up with simple, natural finger motions for the mousepad?  Not that difficult, Apple did it!
  • They are ugly.  I don’t care how hard they try to clone the silver glory that is a macbook.  They still look clunky and 1980’s-ish.
  • Their batteries weigh a ton and take up half the machine.  MY battery actually projects out the back of the computer adding an extra two inches to the back for no apparent reason.
  • I could go on and on, but for your sake, I will stop.  I just want to give you ooonnneeee last little reason.  A picture is worth a thousand words.  Without further ado:

photo-1

*disclaimer:  Although Mr. T DOES work for Apple, I owned a Mac LONG before I even met him.  So his influence is nada.  As a matter of fact, until he worked there, he was a PC guy.  Luckily, he crossed over from the dark side.

HATE PCs.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Joellyn permalink
    September 8, 2009 9:30 pm

    I have a nice little PC that weighs about 5 pounds and fits ever so nicely in my Lululemon bag. he he he…

Leave a Reply

