Skip to content

Love It: New York, New York

September 7, 2009

On my recent vacation to Europe whenever someone asked me where I was from, I answered “New York.”  Yes, I’ve lived in California for over 7 years, but I can’t help it.  Deep down inside I will always be a New Yawker.

So after K.’s recent post on why she loves SF, I was challenged by my co-worker and fellow NYer to write about why I heart NY.  So, per her request, here is my top 10 list of why I love New York.  Note, this list isn’t about the hottest ins and outs of NYC as my love for New York is more nostalgic.

i_heart_ny

1. The Food.

There is not a day goes by where I don’t lament over one of the following things…  In California there are no good bagels, slices of pizza, or donuts in sight. We could also use a couple of Carvels & some good homemade Italian ice.

Also, in my honest opinion, the Chinese food is not up to par. But, I believe that last point is up for debate.

2. The way people tawlk.

Being from Lawng Island, my accent was something that people immediately pointed out when I moved away from home.  It was pointed out so much that I worked on changing the way I said certain words. However, there is something comforting about watching the Real Housewives of New Jersey and hearing words like “dawg” (d0g),  “muttha” mother, and “warta” (water).

3. Street Foods, Street Fairs, Street Shopping

There is nothing better than walking down the streets of Manhattan and grabbing a warm pretzel or bag of roasted nuts on a chilly day.  In LA and SF, the only real street food option is a random taco truck here and there. It’s sad. Additionally, I miss summer large carnivals held in church parking lots and picking up faux-bags and sunglasses on the street corners.

4. Shopping

Yes, every major city has a shopping scene.  But, NYC, has all the key staples plus some other goodies like Bergdorf Goodman,  Barney’s and Century 21.  And, the kid of me can’t help but remember the hours I spent playing in FAO Schwartz.

5. The lights

They say NYC is the city that never sleeps and that saying comes to life when you walk down Times Square at three in the morning and you almost forget that it’s dark out.  The lights are shining, the sidewalks are packed and the energy is on high. There’s nothing like it.

6. The people

To me, New Yorkers are serious, their fast, and they have an edge. They also wear black.  Does that make sense? Maybe not, but there is this indescribable attitude that New Yorkers possess that help me spot them from across a room.

7. The beaches

Growing up on the north shore of Long Island, the beach was never more than 5 minutes away. Whether is was a lazy afternoon spent on the still shores of the Long Island sound or a fun day of body surfing in the waves are Jones Beach, the beaches of New York are something I always miss in the summer time.

8. Lightning Bugs!

Ok, yes, I realize that this might feel random. However, there is nothing more magical for a child than sitting in your backyard watching hundreds of little green lights floating through the air. Watching and catch lightning bugs is probably one of my favorite childhood memories.

9. Broadway

If you love plays, comedy or musicals, they New York is the place to be.

10. Public Transportation

Whenever I visit New York, I am amazed by how I can get from one side of the city to another in only a few minutes. Yes, the subways are crowded and not the most hygienic, but they are a life saver when your rushing from one place to another. This is something that cannot be said in California cities and its a major issue.

So, there’s my top 10. I will stop myself here, but if there is something I absolutely missed, please let me know! I love to reminisce about one of the greatest cities on Earth.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2009 10:17 am

    Yes, New York is great! So much to do 🙂

  2. Susan Ella permalink
    September 7, 2009 12:27 pm

    I love your list and I agree 200%!!! I just have a few additions to #1…smoked salmon and cream cheese on a bagel (you can find it here in CA but it’s like $10 which is ridic) and while we’re on the subject of bagels, in NY you can eat bagels for every meal, not just breakfast. Why do bagels stores close at 2 PM in CA? Nathan’s hot dogs. Fried egg and sausage sandwiches on a Kaiser roll from any corner deli at all hours of the day and night. I have yet to find a Kaiser roll in the SF Bay Area. OK, I’m done. I miss NY!

  3. September 7, 2009 1:14 pm

    great point, susan ella. that also reminds me that i forgot delis! there is nothing like a eggplant and mozzarella sandwich on a fresh roll w/ freshly brewed iced tea. not the ice tea that comes out of a soda machine, i miss the real stuff.

  4. September 7, 2009 5:19 pm

    egg sandwiches. the subway. christmas in new york. coffee from carts. salad places. brick sidewalks. corner bistro. the us open. duane reed at 2 am. justifying buying expensive shoes (what, everyone else has them.) central park. be still my heart, i love you nyc!

Leave a Reply

