Skip to content

Love It: Day 21 of The Gratitude Challenge

September 3, 2009

I did it!

Today is the final day of The Gratitude Challenge. All in all, I think it was refreshing to have a daily reminder that life isn’t all that bad. Here are just a few of the things I’ve learned:

  • When it comes down to it, everything in life is immeasurably better if you do it with the people you love.
  • Never underestimate the rejuvenating abilities of a really good latte.
  • Like Mark Twain said, “I can live for two months on a good compliment.”
  • You can be nice and honest without compromising yourself. It just takes practice.
  • Hula hoops make people happy.
  • Quiet time is valuable. Being alone from time to time is a human necessity.
  • Most things aren’t good or bad. They just are.
  • We are so blessed.

Right before my grandmother passed away when I was 12 years old, she said that to my mom—“We are so blessed.” It’s stuck with me for more than a decade, and whenever I feel overwhelmed by life or exhausted by the struggle to stay afloat, it gives me a sense of peace.

gratitude

I think The Gratitude Challenge was worth it. If you want to join the challenge yourself, look for information on www.thegratitudechallenge.com in the next two weeks to help you get started. I’m sure it will be a “Love It” for you, too!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

