Skip to content

Love It: Filoli (The Gratitude Challenge Day 14)

August 27, 2009

Today’s task is to take a photo of a place or a moment that makes me feel grateful.

filoli

This is a picture of my dad and I at Filoli, a historic estate nestled just off Highway 280 near Redwood City. It’s 30 miles outside of San Francisco, but it’s so adorable that I definitely think it’s worth a look.

It used to be a mansion in the early 20th century, but now it’s a gorgeous garden estate that’s preserved for visitors by a staff of volunteers. Along with cultural tours and educational information, Filoli offers some of the most beautiful views I’ve seen anywhere in the Bay Area.

My favorite part about Filoli (besides the fact that I visited with my parents, whom I adore and feel grateful for every day) is that the name stands for Fight + Love + Live, which is short for “Fight for a Just Cause,” “Love Your Fellow Man” and “Live a Good Life.”

It’s so peaceful and serene at Filoli that you can’t help but think that’s exactly what you should do with your life—and I feel so grateful to have that sweet little reminder imprinted on my memory for years to come!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 11:16 pm

    Yes, this serene oasis is a definite must see!

Leave a Reply

