Skip to content

Hate It? The Gratitude Challenge Day 4—On Being a Negative Nancy

August 17, 2009

This morning, I found out that I have to get glasses.

When I got to work, I checked my Gratitude Challenge calendar and the assignment reads:

“Write a short message of thanks for some of the ‘negative’ things in your life. Has a problem given you the opportunity to learn, grow or develop in some way? Describe how it’s added something positive to your life.”

Glasses, to me, feel like a life sentence. It’s like admitting that you are getting old, losing your eyesight and giving in to inevitable decay. I was so afraid that I needed glasses that I’ve spent the last few months shrugging off the fact that I can no longer read street signs, menus or subtitles. I argued that it wasn’t my eyesight failing, but rather the fact that other people make these things blurry, tiny and impossible to read that was the real problem.

The reason I finally gave in and went to the eye doctor was because my mother (who has worn glasses all her life) told me that I will only make my eyesight worse, eventually needing bifocals and the dreaded “progressive lenses” that have 24 different prescriptions blended together into one lens so you are constantly looking for the sweet spot that enables you to see whatever you are looking at. Ugh.

When the doctor handed me my prescription, I didn’t even stay to look at frames. I was depressed.

But, in light of this latest assignment from TGC, I think I’ve found a glimmer of hope. There are plenty of stylish women who wear glasses. Some of them have even turned glasses into their trademark, giving them an intellectual air. Not only will glasses help with my headaches and driving abilities (no more missed street signs and illegal u-turns!), they will help keep my vision from deteriorating and also give me a new (and necessary!) accessory to shop for from time to time.

Essentially, glasses will enhance the way I see the world. What could be so bad about that?

Maybe this is my chance to create a new style staple for myself and join the ranks of these framed femmes:

Amanda Peet

Cate Blanchett

Kirsten Dunst

Jennifer Garnertina-fey

Looking a little more like Tina Fey certainly doesn’t seem like a bad thing! Maybe it’s time to stop being a Negative Nancy about my new prescription. In fact, I think it’s time to stop dreading—and start shopping. Dolce and Dior, here I come…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2009 5:29 pm

    I feel your pain. When I got my glasses, for the first time, I was 24. I was so embarrassed and it felt awkward. But now I realize they can totally change up any outfit!

  2. August 17, 2009 6:47 pm

    I’ve had glasses (and or contacts) since the 3rd grade! While my plastic pink Bugs Bunny frames were not the most stylin’, I’ve come to realize the value in a great pair of specs. Plus, you actually be able to SEE!

  3. August 17, 2009 11:29 pm

    your two eyes are so beautiful i cant wait to see them as four xx

  4. kwristen permalink
    August 17, 2009 11:55 pm

    I have no doubt that you’ll find the perfect pair of glasses that you’ll fall in love with. Luckily, glasses are stylish now. People who don’t even need them like to wear them. When I wear my glasses (on rare occasions), I’m always so surprised by the comments I receive. I’m sure the same will happen to you once you get yours. 🙂

  5. T. permalink*
    August 18, 2009 11:06 pm

    Perhaps I am insane but…glasses can be avoided quite easily with…contacts. I mean not that glasses aren’t cute, they are. But if you dread them…contacts! Am I just stating the obvious?

  6. August 19, 2009 8:29 am

    They are just for when I need to see far away, like going to the movies, seeing a play, driving, etc. So I can’t wear contacts because then I wouldn’t be able to wear my reading glasses when I need to see up close. Bifocals here I come…

  7. October 27, 2010 5:05 pm

    my mom is an eye doctor and she always tell me to never squint my eyes and watch too much dvd movie*”~

Leave a Reply

