Skip to content

Love it: Gilmore Girls (The Original GG)

August 13, 2009
by

The other day one of my Facebook friends declared in her status, “I miss new episodes on Gilmore Girls.”  This was a status to which I enthusiastically replied, “Me too!”  As the owner of every season of the wittiest and sweetest CW series ever, I suddenly have the urge to lock myself in my apartment all weekend long while I de-stress from the work week and hang with the residents of Stars Hallow, Connecticut.  I don’t know if this weekend of perfection is actually possible, so I will leave you with some of the best GG (yes – Gossip Girl fans… Gilmore Girls was the original GG) quotes just in case:

Gilmore_Girls

  • Lorelai: “Honey, someday when you’re a little older you will be introduced to something that is extremely seductive but fickle. A fair-weather friend who seems benign but packs a wallop like a donkey kick, and that is the Long Island iced tea. The Long Island iced tea makes you do things that you normally wouldn’t do, like lifting your skirt in public or calling someone you normally wouldn’t call at really weird times.”
  • Emily: “This is a serious problem. These Friday dinners are the only proper food that child eats all week.”
  • Richard: “Rory, are you in any way malnourished or in need of some international relief organization to recruit a celebrity to raise money on your account?”
  • Paris: “I don’t know what anything means anymore. I mean, I can’t even read my own handwriting. What does this say? The person who wrote this should be dressed in a clown suit stuffing bodies under their porch.”
  • Rory: Do something to make me hate you!
  • Lorelai: Um, go Hitler?
  • Rory: Boys are so confusing. I don’t know why they say Venus and Mars. I mean, Mars and Venus at least have something in common they’re planets. It’s more like Mars and a bowl of soup.
  • Lorelai: I look adorable! No one ever told me that if you fish, you get to buy an outfit. I’ll do just about anything if I can buy an outfit!

And as someone who say’s “Oy” all the time, here is my fave:

  • Lorelai: “Hey, you know what I just realized? Oy is the funniest word in the entire world. I mean think about it, you never hear the word oy and not smile. Impossible. Funny, funny word.”
  • Emily: “Oh dear God.”
  • Lorelai: “Poodle is another funny word. In fact, if you put oy and poodle together, in the same sentence, you’d have a great new catch phrase you know? Like, ‘Oy with the poodles already’. So from now on, when the perfect circumstances arise, we will use our favorite new catch phrase- Oy with the poodles already! I’m telling you, it’s knocking ‘Whatchu talkin’ ’bout, Willis’ right out of first place.”
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

