Skip to content

Hate It: Shape Up Shoes

August 12, 2009

Ok, first let me confess–I own a pair of Fit Flops. No, that’s not a typo. Yes, I meant to write FIT not Flip.  A friend recommended them before my recent trip to Europe and they saved my feet which had to endure hours of walking and thousands of stairs.  However, I will  be the first to admit that they are hideous and Herman Munster-ish.  But, really they are so comfortable.  They are like sneakers with air conditioning.

However, unlike others who buy Fit flops as a replacement for exercise, I have no disillusions about having tighter thighs and a small but from buying a new pair of shoes.  That’s just dumb, and this is precisely why I hate Shape Up Shoes.  Oy. The commercials for the shoes are taking over my TV and I can’t take it anymore!  So, here is a little education for you…

shape ups

Now, listen carefully world–I promise you, no matter how much you want to believe it, these hideous moon-walkers will not “shape-up” your anything.  I am quite certain that they will only make you walk wobbly and lopsided, and you will look like you got dressed in a nursing home.

So, please do me a favor. If you really want to shape-up, eat carrots and hit the gym.

NOT CUTE…

fitness shoes

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2009 10:24 pm

    I agree. Very silly thought process and VERY silly looking. I confess, I tested them out and they even made me feel a bit weird.. kind of like walking on the moon.

  2. August 13, 2009 9:59 am

    hey…i wore something like these in jr. high. throwback!!

    does this make me uncool now :sad face:

  3. August 13, 2009 10:07 am

    Don’t worry, Rachel. I did too! But I never wore them to “get fit.”

  4. geeva permalink
    September 26, 2009 3:49 pm

    i just bought a pair and for the first time in longer than i can remember i got up and could walk without back, knee and foot pain. i generally wear birks and orthodics. i couldn’t give a rats patoot about fashion after dealing with the pain i’ve been in. just a few hours walking in my sketchers and i feel like i’m 10 years younger!

Leave a Reply

