Skip to content

Hate it: Running Love It: Ending a Run

August 6, 2009

My husband is currently training for a marathon and my friend is training for a half marathon.  Because they are both over-achievers and I feel like some sort of humongous failure next to them, I’ve decided to sign up for a 10K.  I realize that a 10K is only 6.2, miles, thanks.  I wasn’t asking for your opinion.  Either way, it’s something, and because running is something that I absolutely LOATHE, I feel this is a huge step for me.

On the contrary, I actually love fitness and working out, I just hate running . It is a different kind of exhaustion and pain than other types of exercise, and I get bored really, really fast.  Even my friend who is training for the half marathon had this to say in her recent email to me:

“I ran 5 miles sat and 10 effing stupid miles yesterday in prep for the half and have come to the firm conclusion I loathe running. Put it on your blog. Running: HATE IT.”

So, at her request, I’ve but it in my blog and declared that I, too, hate running.  HATE IT.

marathon1225400380

I also don’t get the attraction people have to running vast, vast distances for absolutely no reason.  Not to mention they are paying actual money to suffer that kind of pain.  Hey you!!  Want to wake up at 5am and run 26 miles?  $80 please!  Mr. T (from here on foreward that will be how I refer to my husband…how ugly!!!) seems to enjoy it and on a daily basis I ask him to explain it to me.  He has yet to give me a real, acceptable answer.

However, I do have to say one thing.  I love the way I feel after running.  It’s the best feeling ever.  And once in a great, great while, when I’m running along the Pacific in Santa Cruz, I kinda, sorta like running a little bit. Actually, I kind of love it.

So there you have it.  Running:  Hate it.  After Running:  Love it.  Running along the ocean:  Love it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 7, 2009 7:34 am

    You ran 10 miles?!?!?! WILD

  2. August 10, 2009 4:15 pm

    RUNNING: LOVE IT 🙂 Get the “high” enough times and it keeps you coming back for more. Good luck on the 10k, rockstar!

  3. Brooke permalink
    August 11, 2009 7:53 am

    What about when sweat is dripping into your eyes? Hate it.

Leave a Reply

